Nikon D780 Review

9.5/10 (Expert Score)
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
(6 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Nikon D780 Body - £2,195.00
Check all prices

The tough D780 boasts a fast, dedicated Hybrid-AF system for Live View shooting, and a fast, powerful 51-point Phase-Detection AF system for viewfinder shooting. When shooting in Live View, photographers and moviemakers benefit from the same AF system as found in the acclaimed Nikon Z 6…

Last updated on 16th October 2020 7:18 am

Description

Price History

Price history for Nikon D780 Body
Latest updates:
  • £2,195.00 - 16th October 2020
  • £1,999.99 - 2nd October 2020
  • £1,888.00 - 4th September 2020
  • £1,919.00 - 14th August 2020
  • £1,999.00 - 22nd July 2020
  • £2,195.00 - 15th July 2020
  • £2,019.00 - 8th July 2020
  • £2,196.65 - 24th June 2020
Since: 26th April 2020
  • Highest Price: £2,196.73 - 16th June 2020
  • Lowest Price: £1,888.00 - 4th September 2020

Additional information

Specification: Nikon D780 Review

Sensor Size

APS-C

Reviews (6)

6 reviews for Nikon D780 Review

4.7 out of 5
4
2
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Max

    I have been very lucky to test this camera extensively over the past week or so. It is a joy to use, but has some compromises, which I’ll detail below.***Summary***This is a direct replacement for Nikon’s very well reviewed D750, with some notable improvements (the video performance definitely feels more in line with stills quality on this than the D780). It handles every situation I have thrown at it, from different light levels and speeds of action, through to the vibrancy of colours and details of shadows. I would have no hesitation using it as my main camera. However, for me it falls just a little between two stools: it is overspecced for the needs of a home photographer (which means it isn’t an optimal choice either in price or size), yet for semi professional use there are some slight compromises on features (largely image stabilisation, and action shots are hampered just a little because the tracking of movements is occasionally unreliable).***Positives***- For home use, this camera works brilliantly. The quality of jpegs direct from the camera are excellent, and (relatively) easy to share via an app. RAW files are, as you would expect rich and versatile.- The body and lens are both extremely well made, and feel bomb proof, as you’d expect from the brand.-4K video quality is astounding, and a step up from the D750.- Battery life is great, and USB charging is easy.- (For Nikon) relatively well functioning connectivity, with Bluetooth and WiFi options for sharing. This still feels more clunky than competitors, though.***Compromises ***Let me say I am being a harsh critic here. If this camera were £1000 less I’d rave about it. But for the price I’d expect the below to be better.- For home use, this is a big, big camera. I have used Nikon cameras for most of my life, but even I find the classic body shape to be uncomfortably bulky when put alongside such capable mirrorless competitors (the Z6 comes to mind). I can’t quite see why you would pay this much for this big a camera, unless you have your heart set on DSLR rather than mirrorless.- The lack of image stabilisation. Don’t get me wrong, the VR lens is extremely capable, but I would have liked to have seen image stabilisation built into the body also, not least because the body is backward compatible with older Nikon lenses.- It feels as if, to get the best of the camera, you have to move between the finder and live view based on the camera’s limitations, not your preference. Specifically, the spec for auto focus varies quite a bit, and I found the tracking in action shots just didn’t seem quite up to par through live view. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful, I just got a bit frustrated that I didn’t have both options (live view and finder) available to me if I wanted top notch action shots. This didn’t feel like a compromise I wanted to make for the price.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. markr

    This is a superb full frame DSLR camera – for Nikon it upgrades the D750 significantly and incorporates the incredible autofocus technology from the Nikon Z 6 mirrorless camera. For context in reading this review, you should know that I am not a professional, but I am something of an amateur photography addict. I have been using, and enjoying, a mirrorless crop frame camera from another leading brand, but I am so thrilled by the results, and pleasure, from using this incredible camera – which is something of a full frame DSLR/mirrorless hybrid, that I believe i am converted to what DSLR can now offer – at least this amazing camera.The camera and 24-120 F4 VR lens combination is really good value considering the lens retails at around £1000 and provides stunningly sharp images across the range. It gives excellent bokeh when zoomed in to make portraits stand out against the background . I am excited to try the camera with other F mount lens to see what it can do, but i am already thrilled with the 24-120 lens which gives superb wide angle and telephoto image capability.There are so many positives and just a few drawbacks.Lets take the positives first:Image quality – this camera and lens combination provides stunning sharp images, in both photo and video modesBursts – provides 7 FPS using the viewfinder and 12 FPS using the Live View screen – so many chances to catch the perfect shot -even for meEase of use – the controls are intuitive and placed just where you want them for easy location and controlScreen – large, clear screen with touch shutter release and 273 focus pointsAuto focus – super fast and incredible in all lights including very, very low lightTracking – locks on in all lighting conditions – you can choose which eye to trackLow and bright light capability – takes superb images in all lighting conditions with ISO that can be taken from100 to 51200Shutter speed flexibility – from 1/8000 to 90s allows all kinds of images and capture from very high speed action to stunning images of the night skyHandling – the camera feels good in the hands, the controls are easy to use and the grip is very comfortable – even for people with quite large handsImage storage and transfer – 2 memory card slots with fast card compatibility. Bluetooth and wifi are easy to set up and to use with rapid data transferBattery life – outstanding with up to 2600 images on a single chargeThe drawbacks are few:This is far from being an inexpensive camera – but if you can reach the price you will surely be thrilled by what this camera can do, even in the hands of an amateur photographerThis is not the lightest camera and lens combination to walk around all day with- at about 2.4kg – certainly compared with the mirrorless camera I have been using – but the quality of images, the flexibility the camera offers, and the sheer pleasure of using it, more than compensates.This is a very high quality camera which is a delight to use. I can’t wait to take it out and about again tomorrow!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. Max

    I have been very lucky to test this camera extensively over the past week or so. It is a joy to use, but has some compromises, which I’ll detail below.***Summary***This is a direct replacement for Nikon’s very well reviewed D750, with some notable improvements (the video performance definitely feels more in line with stills quality on this than the D780). It handles every situation I have thrown at it, from different light levels and speeds of action, through to the vibrancy of colours and details of shadows. I would have no hesitation using it as my main camera. However, for me it falls just a little between two stools: it is overspecced for the needs of a home photographer (which means it isn’t an optimal choice either in price or size), yet for semi professional use there are some slight compromises on features (largely image stabilisation, and action shots are hampered just a little because the tracking of movements is occasionally unreliable).***Positives***- For home use, this camera works brilliantly. The quality of jpegs direct from the camera are excellent, and (relatively) easy to share via an app. RAW files are, as you would expect rich and versatile.- The body and lens are both extremely well made, and feel bomb proof, as you’d expect from the brand.-4K video quality is astounding, and a step up from the D750.- Battery life is great, and USB charging is easy.- (For Nikon) relatively well functioning connectivity, with Bluetooth and WiFi options for sharing. This still feels more clunky than competitors, though.***Compromises ***Let me say I am being a harsh critic here. If this camera were £1000 less I’d rave about it. But for the price I’d expect the below to be better.- For home use, this is a big, big camera. I have used Nikon cameras for most of my life, but even I find the classic body shape to be uncomfortably bulky when put alongside such capable mirrorless competitors (the Z6 comes to mind). I can’t quite see why you would pay this much for this big a camera, unless you have your heart set on DSLR rather than mirrorless.- The lack of image stabilisation. Don’t get me wrong, the VR lens is extremely capable, but I would have liked to have seen image stabilisation built into the body also, not least because the body is backward compatible with older Nikon lenses.- It feels as if, to get the best of the camera, you have to move between the finder and live view based on the camera’s limitations, not your preference. Specifically, the spec for auto focus varies quite a bit, and I found the tracking in action shots just didn’t seem quite up to par through live view. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful, I just got a bit frustrated that I didn’t have both options (live view and finder) available to me if I wanted top notch action shots. This didn’t feel like a compromise I wanted to make for the price.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. markr

    This is a superb full frame DSLR camera – for Nikon it upgrades the D750 significantly and incorporates the incredible autofocus technology from the Nikon Z 6 mirrorless camera. For context in reading this review, you should know that I am not a professional, but I am something of an amateur photography addict. I have been using, and enjoying, a mirrorless crop frame camera from another leading brand, but I am so thrilled by the results, and pleasure, from using this incredible camera – which is something of a full frame DSLR/mirrorless hybrid, that I believe i am converted to what DSLR can now offer – at least this amazing camera.The camera and 24-120 F4 VR lens combination is really good value considering the lens retails at around £1000 and provides stunningly sharp images across the range. It gives excellent bokeh when zoomed in to make portraits stand out against the background . I am excited to try the camera with other F mount lens to see what it can do, but i am already thrilled with the 24-120 lens which gives superb wide angle and telephoto image capability.There are so many positives and just a few drawbacks.Lets take the positives first:Image quality – this camera and lens combination provides stunning sharp images, in both photo and video modesBursts – provides 7 FPS using the viewfinder and 12 FPS using the Live View screen – so many chances to catch the perfect shot -even for meEase of use – the controls are intuitive and placed just where you want them for easy location and controlScreen – large, clear screen with touch shutter release and 273 focus pointsAuto focus – super fast and incredible in all lights including very, very low lightTracking – locks on in all lighting conditions – you can choose which eye to trackLow and bright light capability – takes superb images in all lighting conditions with ISO that can be taken from100 to 51200Shutter speed flexibility – from 1/8000 to 90s allows all kinds of images and capture from very high speed action to stunning images of the night skyHandling – the camera feels good in the hands, the controls are easy to use and the grip is very comfortable – even for people with quite large handsImage storage and transfer – 2 memory card slots with fast card compatibility. Bluetooth and wifi are easy to set up and to use with rapid data transferBattery life – outstanding with up to 2600 images on a single chargeThe drawbacks are few:This is far from being an inexpensive camera – but if you can reach the price you will surely be thrilled by what this camera can do, even in the hands of an amateur photographerThis is not the lightest camera and lens combination to walk around all day with- at about 2.4kg – certainly compared with the mirrorless camera I have been using – but the quality of images, the flexibility the camera offers, and the sheer pleasure of using it, more than compensates.This is a very high quality camera which is a delight to use. I can’t wait to take it out and about again tomorrow!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Kindle Customer

    Love the camera. Great deliverance very happy with the price

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. Francesco T.

    Precedentemente ero possessore di apsc Canon ( eos 100d e Eos 70d) con il classico trio STM (10-18 / 18-55 / 55-250 ).Stanco dei limiti ad alti iso tipico delle apsc, mi son deciso al passaggio a Full Frame e non avendo vincoli di ottiche ho deciso di valutare la migliore macchina per il budget che avevo a disposizione (ovviamente dal ricavato delle precedenti apsc). Sul budget disponibile le scelte ricadevano tra Canon 6d, Canon 6d MK 2, Nikon d610, Nikon d750, O eventualmente il passaggio a mirrorless.Ho quindi perso diversi giorni a leggere recensioni e vedere video confronti online e ho iniziato a capire che la nikon D750 era quella giusta per me, Perchè? Elenchiamo le caratteristiche:La gamma dinamica : Dai diversi confronti vinceva macchine come la 5d mk 3 e in pratica pareggiava senza problemi con la 5d mk IV. Il primo test che ho fatto è stato scattare una foto sottoseposta. Bè, ho recuperato dal buio quasi totale una foto decente! son rimasto meravigliato dal recupero che si può fare dai file raw (nef)!Tenuta alti iso: Le diverse recensioni viste posso confermarle, il salto da apsc è netto e non c’è paragone. Ottimo anche nei video di prova girati manualmenteFps di scatto : con i suoi 6.5 fps al secondo direi che va più che bene per tante casistiche. Nei confronti con la 5d mk3 perdeva di pochi punti, quindi direi che è più che ottima. ho provato qualche scatto con animali in movimento e il risultato va benissimo!Schermo basculante : Nel mondo Full Frame è una caratteristica praticamente assente ( a parte la nuova 6d mk2, o la ben più costosa nikon d850) ed è molto comodo in diverse soluzioni. Certo non è touch, ma coi comandi vari si naviga ugualmente nei menù e pazienza ci si abitua ;)Doppio Slot SD. Davvero utile e potete impostare diverse modalità come : salvataggio identico in entrambi gli slot (backup), uno slot per jpeg e uno solo raw, oppure uno slot foto e l’altro solo video etc. il tutto a vostro piacimento.Ottica in dotazione: un ottima ottica che copre dal 24 al 120 con f4 fisso. Unico difetto vignetta abbastanaza a 24 ta, ma veramente una bella lente (e pesantina siamo sui 900grammi quasi). Video : Non è una carattestica che mi interessava tanto ma si difende comunque bene e permette di impostare manualmente i diversi parametri, tra cui l’utilissimo cambio degli iso per filmare anche con poca luce. Il valore raggiungibile massimo è 1080p a 60fps. Non ha il 4k ma non mi serviva. Aggiungiamo poi che ha pure l’ingresso microfono e l’uscita cuffie.Vogliamo trovare dei difetti?* La macchina è stata richiamata per dei problemi all’otturatore, ma dal 2016 come produzione sono esenti da tale difetto al 100% (così si dice).La prova da fare è effettuare uno scatto a 1/4000 appena accesa: se vi appare il messaggio di errore allora presenta tale difetto. (la mia non presentava tale errore). Inoltre potrete verificare dall’apposito sito nital se la vostra macchina è sottoposta a richiamo inserendo il seriale.** IL monitor non è touch, ma è nitidissimo.***Non gira video in 4k.Se siete indecisi solo per il “difetto di fabbrica” tanto reclamizzato, non spaventatevi e acquistatela senza problemi. Poi col servizio Amazon siete in una botte di ferro in ogni caso.Buona Luce!Se la recensione ti è stata utile clicca “SI” qui sotto grazie 🙂

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0