Canon EF 100mm Review: f/2.8L Macro IS USM

7.5/10 (Expert Score)
(4 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Canon EF 100 mm f2.8L Macro IS USM Lens, Black - £519.00
Check all prices

Canon EF 100 mm F 2.8 L Macro IS USM Lens – Black.

Last updated on 27th February 2021 11:04 am
Canon EF 100mm Review: f/2.8L Macro IS USM
Canon EF 100mm Review: f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Description

Price History

Price history for Canon EF 100 mm f2.8L Macro IS USM Lens, Black
Latest updates:
  • £519.00 - 27th February 2021
  • £499.00 - 17th January 2021
  • £969.00 - 20th December 2020
  • £999.00 - 13th November 2020
Since: 13th November 2020
  • Highest Price: £999.00 - 13th November 2020
  • Lowest Price: £499.00 - 17th January 2021

Additional information

Specification: Canon EF 100mm Review: f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 21.6 x 14.4 x 13.6 cm
Package Weight (Grams) 998
Item Dimensions L x W x H 12.3 x 12.3 x 7.8 cm
Item Weight (Grams) 626
Brand Name Canon
Color Name Black
Has Image Stabilization Yes
Lens Fixed Focal Length (millimetres) 100
Max Focal Length 100
Min Focal Length (millimetres) 100
Model Year 2009
Mounting Type Canonbayonet
Part Number 242P045
Water Resistance Level Not Water Resistant
Focus Type Manual
Style EF 100mm f2.8L Macro IS USM
Photo Filter Thread Size (millimetres) 67
Shipping Weight (g) 998
Item model number 242P045
Date First Available 3 Sept. 2009
Amazon Bestsellers Rank 17,124 in Electronics & Photo (See Top 100 in Electronics & Photo) .zg_hrsr { margin: 0, padding: 0, list-style-type: none, } .zg_hrsr_item { margin: 0 0 0 10px, } .zg_hrsr_rank { display: inline-block, width: 80px, text-align: right, } #113 in Camera Lenses

Reviews (4)

4 reviews for Canon EF 100mm Review: f/2.8L Macro IS USM

4.8 out of 5
3
1
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. ploddingon

    Great lens from a good company. As fixed focal length images are sharp but not always as convenient as a zoom. Great for macro. Well pleased.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. riwile

    I don’t think I can add anything that hasn’t already been said. A very expensive lens when purchased new but bargains can be found on eBay. I would highly recommend this lens to anyone thinking of buying one.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. C. Hawkes

    Please note – some of the reviews here are for the non-L macro lens. Just to be clear, this is for the Canon EF 100mm f2.8L Macro IS USM Lens.This is, quite honestly, a stunning lens – and I write as someone who has several L-series lenses. Image quality is startling – better than my go-to EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM; colour rendition faithful and bright. (Of course, it is a prime lens, but even so.)As a walk-around lens, this has performed well for me as a medium telephoto – making me think about composition and using the “foot-zoom” has been fun. It is very well made and solid in feel without being heavy – as you’d expect from an L-series lens, build quality is excellent.But of course it is the macro performance that is the best feature of this lens. Close focus is excellent, and the (supplied) lens hood allows you to get very close to the subject without worrying about contact with the glass – a real benefit of the 100mm macro lens against those with shorter focal lengths. The aperture of 2.8 is fast enough for hand-held performance in decent light – of course, at this aperture depth of field is VERY narrow: see the picture of the caterpillar for an image captured at f2.8; the burnets were captured at f5.6 – you can see the wider depth of field; the (white and pink) Great Masterwort was taken at f20.In short, this is probably my favourite lens. I’d give 6 stars if I could!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. C. Cockburn

    First of all amazon are wrong to group all canon 100mm usm together as there is a big price difference between the three versions and I don’t see a way of choosing the one I purchased . The superior one is l series and has IS . My budget at the time could not stretch to the more expensive one so I have the one without IS. Despite this it’s a great lens and i use it lots. Colours and details are fantastic . I wish I’d saved up for the more expensive one though but I’ll make good use for this now .

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo
    Shopping cart