Canon EOS 90D Review

Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
(6 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Canon EOS 90D Body Only,Black - £1,209.00
Check all prices

The EOS 90D is a DSLR with a 32.5 megapixel APS-C sensor that delivers superb image quality and extends the effective reach of telephoto lenses. Add in 45-point AF points, 10fps shooting and a multi-control dial and you have a powerful cam-era for wildlife and sports photography.

Last updated on 9th October 2020 7:21 am

Description

Price History

Price history for Canon EOS 90D Body Only,Black
Latest updates:
  • £1,209.00 - 2nd October 2020
  • £1,209.99 - 19th September 2020
  • £1,209.00 - 4th September 2020
  • £1,099.00 - 1st July 2020
  • £1,100.65 - 24th June 2020
  • £1,127.00 - 16th June 2020
  • £999.00 - 21st May 2020
  • £1,127.00 - 30th April 2020
Since: 30th April 2020
  • Highest Price: £1,209.99 - 19th September 2020
  • Lowest Price: £999.00 - 21st May 2020

Additional information

Specification: Canon EOS 90D Review

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H

28.1 x 22.4 x 12.4 cm

Model Year

2019

Batteries:

1 Lithium ion batteries required. (included)

Item model number

90D

Shipping Weight (Kg)

1.6

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars24 customer ratings

Package Weight (Kilograms)

1.61

Has Image Stabilization

No

Continuous Shooting Speed

10 frames_per_second

Item Weight (Grams)

699

Item Dimensions L x W x H

14.7 x 10.5 x 7.7 cm

Amazon Bestsellers Rank

22,894 in Electronics & Photo (See Top 100 in Electronics & Photo) .zg_hrsr { margin: 0, padding: 0, list-style-type: none, } .zg_hrsr_item { margin: 0 0 0 10px, } .zg_hrsr_rank { display: inline-block, width: 80px, text-align: right, } #100 in All-in-One Digital Cameras

Reviews (6)

6 reviews for Canon EOS 90D Review

4.7 out of 5
4
2
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Kevin L.

    Works very well huge improvement over the 80D it’s well worth the price. Comfy to hold although markedly heavier then 80d it’s well balanced

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Raymond Moody

    Not being a professional, I caould not justify the expense of a full frame model and have always liked the APSC range of Canon’s DSLRs, and have used the 60D and the 70D with satisfaction. The 90D appeared to me to be a large step up in several ways, particularly with the pixel rate of the sensor. Other purchasers seemed to be of the same opinion for availability of this model was very patchy. With an order placed with Amazon in August, It was originally promised for the day of release, September 14. This was cancelled at a day’s notice and replaced with an uncertain wait of up to two months. I found that Technolove, selling on Amazon, had a small stock – 5 when I ordered on September 22nd. One was promptly dispatched by Royal Mail on the 23rd, with an estimated arrival date of 26 to 30 September. It eventually arrived on 31st, having taken taken nine days on special delivery.. It was beautifully and securely packed, with Canon’s seal on the carton inside. There was no tracking information. The weak link was Royal Mail which appears to be in serious disarray. The package was exactly as expected. As to the camera itself, I have every reason to believe it will live up to its specification which ranks it high among the whole Canon range. In years of experience going far back into the film era I have never been failed by a Canon product, and I am sure that this one will fulfil expectations. But for a full report, – well, ask me in six months time. The performance is perfect so far.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. JP73

    If this turns out to be the last of the prosumer Canon DSLR’s, the 90D will be a worthwhile finale for those who still prefer SLR over mirrorless, just falling short of perhaps where they could have taken it as a last hurrah.Because it is a shame that neither dual SD card support nor IBIS made an appearance, but honestly, those aside, on balance it is—just!—a justifiable upgrade from my previous 70D, with the addition of HDR, UHD/4K video and all the latest processing features, but I can see there’s probably not enough for an 80D user to make the leap, or if you won’t ever need 4K video. If you have a 60D or lower xxD or xxxD model this will be an excellent upgrade, however; indeed, it is probably an essential one if wanting to stick to DSLR rather than go mirrorless.The manual and semi-manual shooting modes are all present and correct, while a new set of preset picture style modes—while perhaps little uninituitive to select, via the touchscreen—are a surprisingly creative and practical alternative to simply using the regular Auto mode on the selection ring; the Portrait preset’s automatic eye-focusing mode in particularly is surprisingly accurate and not just a trick, although it is limited to the live view.Photos: Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5, and Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Mr. Steven J. Corbett

    This is probably one of the best cameras that you are going to buy. It will take an age to learn all of the menus that it holds but I love it.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Mother of Dragonflies

    Camera companies, who aren’t doing terribly well at the moment due to the competition from mobiles, don’t exactly go out of their way to make choosing a ‘proper’ camera easy. So many models, so many numbers- the bigger the number, the cheaper the camera. Ultimately, what is going to make the difference between this expensive toy sitting in a cupboard and being the reason you plan days out? I’ve gone through waves of enthusiasm and frustration, changed camera brands and got stuck and recently unstuck.The camera body matters. But the lens matters more. The whole point of the DSLR system is that you can change the lens so you can capture your subject matter better. Trying to take images of wild birds (or sport/ airshows?) with a moderately priced 300mm lens is deeply frustrating. If you feel you can make do with a zoom lens up to 200mm and add a 2x teleconverter to increase the focal length, you’d better realise that you can only use the higher priced mid quality lenses, or forget the marvels of autofocus and image stabilisation. How much light can get through the lens is really important. However much the manufacturers may boast about how big their ISO range is, I only take pictures between the 100-400 range, because I don’t like grainy images. For preference I want a lens which starts with an aperture of at least f/2.8, meaning that it can let in as much light as possible, great outside on this gloomy October day. I wasted so much money buying the wrong gear initially that I’ve only just been able to replace it with second hand lenses and get my enthusiasm back. However I have had to get the dumbbells out to build up my arm muscles- good glass is heavy.So, they gave me the kit lens version of the 90D to review. I would avoid the bundled lens like the plague. As much as it is fun to use a zoom lens to begin with, this doesn’t produce a very sharp image or transmit light well through the lenses (Learn to pick your way through DXOMARK.com for comparative tests). Of course on Auto ISO and on the camera’s small touch screen it looks fine. Zooming in Adobe Lightroom. Good grief, it chose ISO 6400- you’re never going to print that grainy picture or get it yo look great cycling on your tv.THE LENSEF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM translates asEF-S fits a crop sensor/ APS-C camera only like the 90D (not full frame). EF lenses fit both.At 18mm focal length it has a minimum aperture of f/3.5At 55mm focal length it has a minimum aperture of f/ 5.6, which is pretty awful and won’t let in much light.IS- it has image stabilisation, which is good and reduces hand wobble at low shutter speeds..STM- means stepping motor- it’s a quiet autofocus motor.You can’t fine tune the focus without switching autofocus off completely on this lens.If you’re starting out and scratching your head, get a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM prime lens and a bare camera body to tide you over. The 1.4 is pricier because it has a distance ring, useful for setting up landscapes in deep focus, but the 1.8 will do.THE ACTUAL CAMERA BODY (finally).If you want a good run through of what features are available, check out Tony Northrup’s ‘80D camera set up’ on YouTube (he’ll update it eventually).Despite the fact that the D90 is horribly expensive, has a whacking 32.5MP sensor, it has a smaller sensor size than a ‘professional’ full frame camera (ie one that directly mimics 35mm film). Its electronic innards are the same as the mirrorless M6 mark 2 (see Jared Polin preview). However the two cameras don’t necessarily do things exactly the same- the 90D focus points don’t extend to the edges for instance.First off. The battery doesn’t come precharged. A few hours later… Enjoy as the flashes change from one raid, two rapid, three rapid, continuous light.The strap is wide and proudly boasts it’s a Canon EOS 90D (come mug me now!).There is also only one memory card slot. Now cards CAN fail. It has yet to happen to me, but I messed up enough film loading growing up to have a fear of catastrophe. Even if you aren’t a professional in fear of losing money, you spend on trips out or want to capture a children’s birthday and image failure would be painful.It has a pull out touch screen that tilts, flips out and over (so you can protect it in transit). Very good for video in strong light. It is great for finding the submenus (turning off the annoying beep was easy). Also I managed to find the set auto ISO to a limited band. I don’t normally use the screen to set up a shot, but it was relatively easy.Overall, it’s a fast camera, well suited to use for video (don’t rely on the 4k claims though). With the right lens it would be great for wildlife/ sport photographs.I have previously used Canon, but switched to an (old) Nikon D7200, which is in the same price range as the Canon 90D. I prefer the Nikon separate side mounted front and back dials for setting aperture and shutter speed in manual. If you are more of a point and clicker, then the top mounted single dial and button on the Canon might suit. With the right lens, the Canon does perform better as a video. There’s no point being all brand insistent, it’s just a handling preference.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. chrisd2444

    If you are looking for a cost effective DSLR camera look no futher. This is a natural progression from the Canon 70/80D range and utilises all existing equipment . From one very happy customer

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0