Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN Review: 49″ Odyssey CRG9 Gaming Monitor

9/10 (Expert Score)
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN 49" Curved LED Gaming Monitor - Super Ultra Wide Dual WQHD 5120 x 1440, 120Hz, Freesync, Gsync Compatible, HDMI, 2 x Displayport, USB - £887.99
Check all prices
  • 49 inch dual QHD curved gaming monitor, the equivalent of dual 27 inch QHD displays side-by-side
  • 120Hz refresh rate with AMD Free Sync 2 technology for crisp HDR content display, reduced input latency, low frame rate compensation
  • HDR1000 Supports a peak brightness rating…

Last updated on 30th November 2020 2:47 pm
Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN Review: 49″ Odyssey CRG9 Gaming Monitor
Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN Review: 49″ Odyssey CRG9 Gaming Monitor

£1,099.99 £887.99

Description

Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN Review: 49″ Odyssey CRG9 Gaming Monitor Prices

Price History

Price history for Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN 49" Curved LED Gaming Monitor - Super Ultra Wide Dual WQHD 5120 x 1440, 120Hz, Freesync, Gsync Compatible, HDMI, 2 x Displayport, USB
Latest updates:
  • £887.99 - 30th November 2020
  • £889.99 - 19th November 2020
  • £899.00 - 14th November 2020
  • £999.00 - 8th November 2020
Since: 8th November 2020
  • Highest Price: £999.00 - 8th November 2020
  • Lowest Price: £887.99 - 30th November 2020

Additional information

Specification: Samsung LC49RG90SSUXEN Review: 49″ Odyssey CRG9 Gaming Monitor

Brand Samsung
Product Dimensions 34.97 x 119.95 x 52.31 cm, 14.6 Kilograms
Item model number LC49RG90SSUXEN
Manufacturer Samsung
Color Dark Blue Grey
Standing screen display size (Inches) 49
Resolution 5120x1440 Pixels
Number of USB 3.0 Ports 4
Number of HDMI Ports 1
Wattage (watts) 100
Are Batteries Included No
Item Weight (kg) 14.6
Super ultra wide 32 9 (5120x1440) aspect ratio helps the CRG9 curve around your field of view for immersive gaming action

Reviews (0)

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5
2
0
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Dylan S.

    I absolutely love this monitor. It kills almost all other competition for the price, and the picture is stunning. I was worried due to it being a VA panel, that it may experience ghosting while gaming, but that is not the case. There is no perceivable blurring to either my wife or I. G-Sync works great with it while gaming and does not have any of the issues that Nvidia claims most Adaptive-Sync monitors suffer from compatibility wise. The colors are just as good as my IPS Asus gaming monitor, and some slight adjustment of the settings the color gamut has fantastic reproduction..

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Pierre-Yves

    Wow, just wow, that is most probably going to be your first reaction when you see it for the first time.For gaming the 120hz 5120*1440 is like no other available on the market, the super ultrawide ratio is immersive increasing dramatically your horizontal field of view and the 120hz refresh rate gives an amazing connected feel.The monitor is using a VA panel that gives a good contrast ratio but usually at the expense of the response time of the pixel. The good news here is that the panel is responsive at all frequencies and the smearing and shadow effect is invisible.The monitor also supports FreeSync 2 HDR for owner of a Radeon graphic card over the 48-120hz range. It also supports LFC in case you get out of the range without flickering.The HDR implementation is pretty good with great colour reproduction and a good contrast ratio and an impressive 1000nits peak brightness.The monitor has 10 vertical dimming zones which is a bit on the low side, I wish Samsung had used an array local dimming solution instead but this is one of the best HDR implementation I have seen on a monitor and at this price range it doesn’t have any competition.In order to use HDR you will need to make a small sacrifice though as the display port 1.4 interface can’t support this resolution at 120hz with a 10-bit colour depth. I personally restrict the refresh rate at 100hz, but you can also lower the resolution of use Chroma subsampling.I also use this monitor for work and the real estate that this monitor provides is a real luxury. As a software engineer, I always have a lot of windows open going from my main code editor to documentation, emails, slack, and the application I am working on.The CRG9 gives you a lot of flexibility. My favourite set up is to have a 16:9 windows right in the centre which host Visual Studio or my main work item and two half screens on each side of it for the rest of the info I need. But you can experiment and create a many configuration as you want.And finally, you can use the monitor with two sources at the same time, like 2 PCs or a game console and a laptop.Just keep in mind that HDR, FreeSync, and a few other features are disabled in this mode, your refresh rate will also be capped at 100HZ.Overall, I love this monitor, it is a delight to work and play with. Samsung has fixed the issues if the previous generation, the HDR performance is enjoyable and within this price range you would be hard pressed to find a more impressive monitor.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo