Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Review: Great Value Zoom Lens

7/10 (Expert Score)
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
(0 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Canon EF-S 18-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens, Black - £399.00
Check all prices

Make sure this fits by entering your model number.; A compact 18-135 mm lens for still photography and EOS Movies. Equivalent to a 29-216 mm lens on a full-frame DSLR.; Movie Servo AF uses STM stepping-motor technology for smooth quiet focusing when shooting video with compatible cameras.;…

Last updated on 23rd January 2021 11:25 pm
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Review: Great Value Zoom Lens
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Review: Great Value Zoom Lens

Description

Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Review: Great Value Zoom Lens Prices

Price History

Price history for Canon EF-S 18-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens, Black
Latest updates:
  • £399.00 - 17th January 2021
  • £389.00 - 9th October 2020
  • £289.99 - 2nd October 2020
Since: 2nd October 2020
  • Highest Price: £399.00 - 17th January 2021
  • Lowest Price: £289.99 - 2nd October 2020

Additional information

Specification: Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Review: Great Value Zoom Lens

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 18.6 x 13.8 x 13.8 cm
Mounting Type Canon EF, EF-S
Item Dimensions L x W x H 9.6 x 7.7 x 7.7 cm
Item Weight (Grams) 481
Brand Name Canon
Color Name Black
Country of Origin Taiwan
Has Image Stabilization Yes
Included Components EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, Lens cap E-6, Lens dust cap E, Instruction book, Warranty card
Lens Fixed Focal Length (angstrom) 50
Max Focal Length (millimetres) 135
Min Focal Length (millimetres) 18
Model Year 2012
Package Weight (Grams) 780
Part Number 6097B005AA
Objective Lens Diameter (millimetres) 135
Size Name 9
Water Resistance Level Not Water Resistant
Lens Design Zoom
Maximum Aperture Range f/3.5-5.6
Focus Type AF/MF
Style EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Photo Filter Thread Size (millimetres) 67
Shipping Weight (g) 780
Item model number 6097B005AA
Batteries: 1 Lithium ion batteries required.
Date First Available 8 Jun. 2012
Amazon Bestsellers Rank 20,028 in Electronics & Photo (See Top 100 in Electronics & Photo) .zg_hrsr { margin: 0, padding: 0, list-style-type: none, } .zg_hrsr_item { margin: 0 0 0 10px, } .zg_hrsr_rank { display: inline-block, width: 80px, text-align: right, } #146 in Camera Lenses

Reviews (0)

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5
2
2
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. owedavi-jnp0qa

    Have been using this lens for around two months now in a variety of situations. First, the bad news. It’s a little heavy. That really is all the bad news. Images are pin sharp, focusing is fast, colour reproduction is excellent. I use this as my only lens as it works perfectly under all lighting conditions – particularly good in low light. The zoom range is ample for almost all situations and the lens is fast enough to capture great action shots. Images can be cropped if necessary and suffer from very little loss of quality. All in all, a really good general purpose zoom lens offering excellent quality at competitive pricing levels. You won’t need any other lens except for specialist requirements. recommend it very highly. I use it with my Canon 550D

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. slinight

    I already had a 17-85 IS and a 28-135 IS so wasn’t sure whether or not worth buying this lens but the extra length seemed a good idea although I never got on with the 18-200 IS as a piece of kit. I’d thought about a 15-85 to go with my 70-200 L-series but not a cheap option and so far I’ve rarely missed the wider settings; if I need wider I use the 10-22 which is made to do the job of course. It’s mainly used with a 7D but occasionally on a 40D and whatever the pixel or file size I’ve noticed minimal issues with barrel distortion or corner abberation even at f3.5 and either zoom extreme. If compared to my 100mm f2.8 and blown up to silly size you can just catch a little difference in out and out sharpness but much less than I anticipated. Close focusing is mediocre but you don’t buy a lens like this for macro work and you can’t get a decent zoom with IS and Macro for this money so all said this is a very decent walkabout lens for a sensible outlay with a very good 4-stop IS system and without the problems of zoom creep and bulk like the 18-200. I am happy to recommend this lens for the money

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. Tony

    I bought this solely to use for video on my Canon 600D. Very impressed. This is the default lens you should buy when you purchase a Canon 600D, 60D or 7D etc. The image stabilization when shooting video is brilliant. I shot some footage of the Edinburgh Christmas market, all handheld, and it could pass for being shot on a tripod.There’s none of that ‘jelly’ effect on the image when you use the zoom at most focal lengths. You find that will happen when you use a prime lens for shooting video – you know when the image looks wobbly when the camera moves, that’s what i’m talking about. This won’t happen with this lens at MOST focal lengths. I think when I got close to 135mm there was a slight jelly movement when panning the camera.There is very slight vignetting at times, depending on what iso & shutter you’re using in regards to the available light. If you know how to use your camera properly you should be able to compensate for that and make it unnoticeable.I’ve yet to shoot or take photographs with it on sunny days in which case the quality of image would be amazing, i’m sure of that.As for taking photographs it’s very versatile and has a lot more sharpness than my Tamron 70-300mm lens that I have used in the past.Here’s the link to the video I shot all handheld:[…]I’ve attached a few photographs that I took with the lens too.All in all i’d say buy this as your first lens – it’s more versatile than prime lenses in that price range and will work perfectly for video and still work.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Vinman666

    This is a lightweight lens, offering a good walk-around focal length and very good image stabilisation. The STM mechanism means the auto-focus is effectively silent, which makes it suitable for video recording where the microphone will pick up any sound from near the camera body.I bought this lens, along with a 70D body, for a recent trip to South Africa. Normally I use a 5D MkIII but my longest lens is a 300mm, not long enough to capture wildlife in the Kruger game reserve. The 70D’s APS-C sensor effectively made it 480mm (still not long enough as it turned out but that’s another story) with the downside being that my normal walkabout 24-105mm lens becomes 38mm at the wide end. So I needed a walkabout lens for landscapes, plus I wanted to make use of the 70D’s video capability. The lens I chose was the 18-135mm STM.With an effective focal range of 28-216mm this is great for most holiday situations. I found the focus performance to be fast and accurate, especially when tracking moving objects and also as quiet as a mouse when video recording. Apart from when I used my telephoto for wildlife shots, this lens was on the camera all the time for general sightseeing. The image stabilisation is very good, I got some usable shots in twilight while handheld at around 1/15th second on several occasions.I’ve dropped one star because it’s not the sharpest lens in the world. Compared to my other lenses it produces softer detail, especially in wider landscapes with lots of content. This can be covered with some additional sharpening in post-production but if you want to make the best of the quality available on your camera’s sensor, other lenses are sharper albeit with higher prices and no STM function.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo