HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti

(2 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: HP Pavilion 17-cd0033na 17.3 Inch FHD Gaming Laptop, Intel Core i7-9750H, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, 1 TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti (6 GB Dedicated) Graphics, Windows 10 Home - Black - £649.00
Check all prices

HP Pavilion 17-cd0033na 17.3 Inch FHD Gaming Laptop, Intel Core i7-9750H, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, 1 TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti (6 GB Dedicated) Graphics, Windows 10 Home – Black

Last updated on 27th July 2021 10:44 pm
HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti
HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti

Description

HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti Prices

Price History

Price history for HP Pavilion 17-cd0033na 17.3 Inch FHD Gaming Laptop, Intel Core i7-9750H, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, 1 TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti (6 GB Dedicated) Graphics, Windows 10 Home - Black
Latest updates:
  • £649.00 - 27th July 2021
  • £1,199.99 - 3rd June 2021
  • £1,449.00 - 15th May 2021
  • £1,699.00 - 12th April 2021
  • £1,449.00 - 27th February 2021
Since: 27th February 2021
  • Highest Price: £1,699.00 - 12th April 2021
  • Lowest Price: £649.00 - 27th July 2021

Additional information

Specification: HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti

Keyboard Backlit
Audio Bang & Olufsen Built-in Speakers
RAM 8GB DDR-4
Battery Life 7 Hours
Resolution 1920 x 1080, Full HD
Item Weight (KG) 2.77 kg
Camera HD Webcam
Storage 1 TB HDD, 512 GB SSD
Types of Ports Available HDMI 2.0, USB 3.1, USB-C
Processor Speed 2.66 Ghz, 4.5 Ghz Turbo Boost, Intel Core i7 9750H
Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
Screen Size 17.3 "
Manufacturer Warranty (Years) 1 Year
Touch Screen No
Screen Type Standard

Reviews (2)

2 reviews for HP Pavilion 17 CD0033NA Review: 17.3″ i7-9750H GTX 1660ti

3.5 out of 5
1
0
0
1
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Team B

    With the sad demise of my DV9880 (graphics malfunction and meltdown), I was in the market for another laptop. Key features for me were a 17.3″ screen, speed and storage capacity. I settled on the HP cd0033na not only because of the reviews posted on other web sites but it met my criteria.It is difficult to categorise the HP cd0033na. It isn’t part of HP’s premium Omen gaming range so I would like to think this is HP’s office/gaming hybrid option. Considering the components, this is by no means a cheap laptop. Armed with an Intel i7 processor, 8 GB of RAM, a dedicated 6GB NVidia graphics card (and there’s an Intel one too which I touch upon later), 512 SSD and 1TB hard drive this laptop makes its credentials known.The first thing I noticed about the laptop was its weight and form factor. It was much lighter, slimmer and smaller than my old laptop. There are plenty of ports including 3 USB ports (3.1 spec), 1 USB-C, 1 RJ-45 (Ethernet connection), 1 HDMI, a SD card reader, power input and a 3.5mm combined microphone/headphone socket. There is no optical drive so if this is a must, you’ll need to buy an external drive or look at other laptops. There is also the webcam at the top of the screen. The HP logo is a strange, metallic green colour fitting in with the theme of the keyboard.The black/grey matt finish looks good especially when you open the lid to see the backlit green keyboard. The lid felt a tad flimsy but hardly flexed. The green backlit keyboard looks good but it’s a matter of personal preference. From what I could deduce I haven’t found a way to change the colour. The keyboard has a light touch feel to it. I hope it can endure my somewhat forceful key presses. The mouse pad combines the traditional left/right click buttons into the pad. It didn’t take much time getting used to it.The screen itself is a 17.3″ non-glare matt finish screen so I’m grateful there are no reflections. Colour reproduction is beautiful and razor sharp despite a maximum refresh rate of 75khz. At first, I initially thought the colours looked oversaturated until I used my own photographs that looked bland and they did look bland on the screen so the monitor was working properly!Bloatware – there wasn’t much which can be easily uninstalled. The HP stuff I actually found to be quite useful (first time ever). I removed McAfee software as I already have AVG Ultimate which covers unlimited devices for 2 years. When you use the laptop for the first time, the laptop goes through the normal set-up routine of ‘use Cortana’ etc. It was a mercifully quick process.Performance – boot up and shut down time – fast. Within 10 seconds, the desktop appeared. This is possible with the 512GB SSD hosting the operating system. I installed Office 2013 on the SSD and responsive was quick. There is a 1TB 7200rpm hard drive for additional storage which seems really slow when compared to the SSD. The USB ports put my old laptop to shame – 190mb/s compared to 20mb/s on my old laptop. I played Armada 2 which is a really old game that struggled on the DV9880 as the fans kicked in and task manager showed how much punishment the game was heaping on the laptop. On the new HP laptop, I couldn’t hear any fans and CPU use was next to nothing. I installed Sims 4 which is well known for being a memory hog and CPU killer. I did notice the fans did kick in and a bit more CPU power was being used but it played beautifully. Videos looked glorious on the screen with no stutter. I did notice there was none of this ‘black out’ nonsense that I had encountered with the old laptop when viewing graphics and videos on the web.The interesting bit about this laptop is a two graphic card set-up – the Intel UHD Graphics 630UHD card for general stuff such as browsing (2GB) and the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti Graphics Max-Q (6 GB GDDR6 dedicated) graphics card. That’s 8GB in total but I don’t know if these work in conjunction with each other or they pass on graphics duties between themselves. I’m not sure how the laptop knows when more graphics processing power is required but it is reassuring to know this laptop can handle it.Sound quality – most laptop speakers are appalling. The speakers have been tuned in collaboration with B&O. The sound quality is better than most laptops being fine for casual listening but I normally use headphones or external speakers.Webcam quality – the webcam is extremely clear in good lit conditions but it struggled in low light. The microphone quality isn’t bad but serviceable. Not really too bothered as I don’t use webcams as I use my smartphone for that.Upgrade options – you can upgrade the SSD and HDD. There are two RAM slots with a 4GB RAM chip in each slot but you can potentially upgrade this to 32GB with two 16GB chips but HP have not indicated whether the motherboard will accept more memory which is a shame.Upon conclusion, the HP cd0033na is a great laptop. Blistering performance in terms of speed and game play. It has enough connectivity to satisfy most users. The keyboard and mouse pad are a delight to use. I certainly don’t miss an optical drive but you can always buy an external unit. All in all, this HP laptop is worth considering if you’re thinking about purchasing a laptop that can handle work, browsing and some gaming.Update (15-12-2019) – have successfully installed 32GB of RAM. This laptop was very quick with 8GB but now, this laptop laughs at anything I can chuck at it.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Tisbury Audio

    I bought this for music production but unfortunately had to return it. The laptop had horrendously high DCP latency, meaning you cannot record real time audio without dropouts. I narrowed the cause down to the USB drivers (usbxhci.sys), but was unable to fix it. Intel, Microsoft and HP don’t provide alternative USB drivers. Using modded drivers from win-raid didn’t help. If you’re doing anything that’s latency sensitive, don’t go near this laptop.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo
    Shopping cart