PANASONIC TX-50GX820B Review: 50″ Smart 4K HDR LED TV

6/10 (Expert Score)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Panasonic TX-50GX800B 50 inch LED 4K Ultra HD HDR Smart TV with Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos Sound and Freeview Play (2019), Alexa compliant - £799.00
Check all prices

The GX800 features much of Panasonic’s best picture tech at a great price. With our HCX picture processor, this slim-line design 4K LED TV features HDR Bright Panel Plus to make sure the picture reveals every detail of 4K resolution. The model also works with Google Assistant/ Alexa, so your able…

Last updated on 24th October 2021 11:41 am
PANASONIC TX-50GX820B Review: 50″ Smart 4K HDR LED TV
PANASONIC TX-50GX820B Review: 50″ Smart 4K HDR LED TV

Description

PANASONIC TX-50GX820B Review: 50″ Smart 4K HDR LED TV Prices

Price History

Price history for Panasonic TX-50GX800B 50 inch LED 4K Ultra HD HDR Smart TV with Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos Sound and Freeview Play (2019), Alexa compliant
Latest updates:
  • £799.00 - 22nd August 2021
  • £899.00 - 15th August 2021
  • £49.99 - 2nd August 2021
  • £899.00 - 21st July 2021
  • £699.00 - 7th June 2021
Since: 7th June 2021
  • Highest Price: £899.00 - 21st July 2021
  • Lowest Price: £49.99 - 2nd August 2021

Reviews (2)

2 reviews for PANASONIC TX-50GX820B Review: 50″ Smart 4K HDR LED TV

5.0 out of 5
2
0
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. B. Horne

    Before buying this, I did loads of research and visiting stores to narrow it down to this product. I ordered via Amazon and delivered in perfect order via Hermes.This will be a longish review so please bear with me.I wanted a TV with both Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos and HDR+ was a bonus, I could not fit a 55″ OLED screen tv in so this was the best option and so glad I did.It arrived on the 15th of August so at the time of writing this review we have had it for six days. It was so easy to set up and connect to the Virgin V6 box and using an Ethernet cable, set-up direct to the broadband router.First day was playing with settings and checking things out and initial thoughts was disappointing (but read on)……..Colours looked too vivid but you suddenly realise that your previous TV was only 40″ and was a 10 year old Sony and your eyes were accustomed to that.The following day after getting Netflix set up and Amazon Prime plus the existing Blue-ray player and going though some previously recorded HD programmes on the Virgin V6 box you notice the extra detail and colours are more natural.I certainly think my first thoughts during the initial set-up was due to the Virgin box not initially adjusting from a 1080p display to the higher resolution output it has and image looked poor quality. Now it adjusted with help from me is superb so just check and double check any Virgin or SKY output settings before you cast judgement as I did. Once the output adjusted to match this tv – what a difference.Watching standard HD is definitely noticeably improved as it will be up-scaled to better quality and you notice much extra detail.Seeing a film in 4K HDR is superb, and looking at some of the previous films we own on Blueray makes a stunning difference and superb viewing.I can recommend this TV and the only setting I have changed after playing with colours etc is to reset to factory settings and just put on bass boost as seemed a little tinny.It is connected to a Sony 5.1 surround system via an optical cable so there if I need to use it.Very, very pleased with the purchase and only given four stars as the Smart TV does not have Now TV so will need an external device should you need to use it (I don’t but would be a nice to have….)Otherwise I cannot fault this TV, looks amazing with tiny black bezel and no longer miss my old Sony.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. LondonJohn

    This Panasonic TV is has a fantastic image quality, that shines through especially when you view the image via HD channels. I can imagine the 4K viewing experience would be even better. Although I haven’t seen any 4K films or programmes on this TV, I have watched several standard Blu-ray films, and when paired with the fantastic Panasonic UB900 Blu-ray player, the image stands out even more. The picture quality is more life like than some other manufactures and the reason I opted for this Brand.Now to the slight issue I have with it. Although not a major one, it has a small bright power light on the bottom left of the screen (Green when on) and (Red when off). This has been at times off putting when watching in a dark room and the TV image frames are dark themselves. I have a Sony TV that manages to have no visible light when either on or off (Standby), so not sure how other brands can’t do this sensible simple thing. I may not affect all people, but thought best to mention – I managed to find how to turn this off, so my fault for not reading the instructions properly in the first place. Great TV for those looking for a 40″ screen.I would have taken half a star mark for this issue, but half marks are not an option so given it the full 5 stars based on the image quality. The sound is not perfect but good enough for most viewing I do.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo