Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM

9.8/10 (Expert Score)
(4 customer reviews)
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Canon EF 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM Lens for Camera, Black/White - £2,049.00
Check all prices

Canon EF 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Lens for Camera – Black/White.

Last updated on 5th October 2021 2:12 pm
Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM
Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM

£2,049.00

Description

Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM Prices

Price History

Price history for Canon EF 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM Lens for Camera, Black/White
Latest updates:
  • £2,049.00 - 25th August 2021
  • £2,204.87 - 22nd July 2021
Since: 22nd July 2021
  • Highest Price: £2,204.87 - 22nd July 2021
  • Lowest Price: £2,049.00 - 25th August 2021

Additional information

Specification: Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 31.6 x 18.5 x 18.4 cm
Customer Reviews 4.7 out of 5 stars188 customer ratings
Date First Available
Item model number 9524B005
Shipping Weight (Kg) 2.3
Model Year 2014
Package Weight (Kilograms) 2.31
Included Components EF 100- 400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM lens, Lens Hood ET-83D, Lens Case LZ1326, Lens Cap E-77II, Lens Dust Cap E, Instruction Manuals (Booklet), Warranty card(EUR)
Item Weight (Kilograms) 1.64
Item Dimensions L x W x H 19.3 x 9.4 x 9.4 cm
Amazon Bestsellers Rank 19,687 in Electronics & Photo (See Top 100 in Electronics & Photo) .zg_hrsr { margin: 0, padding: 0, list-style-type: none, } .zg_hrsr_item { margin: 0 0 0 10px, } .zg_hrsr_rank { display: inline-block, width: 80px, text-align: right, } #128 in Camera Lenses

Reviews (4)

4 reviews for Canon EF 100-400mm Lens Review f/4.5-5.6 L IS II USM

5.0 out of 5
4
0
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Nick

    This is a superb lens. I’ve just got back from a 2 week vacation in California and have been using it for wildlife and scenery shots and the results are excellent even in difficult conditions such as shooting into the light. About the only downside is that it’s rather large and heavy – but that’s unavoidable given the zoom range and quality. I’m still looking for the perfect way to carry it when it’s attached to the camera and I need both hands free to climb over things – I’m planning try some sort of shoulder strap attached to the tripod bush on the lens. Expensive but highly recommended.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Remarkablechap

    Given its substantial cost, it took me a long time to decide to buy this lens. I’m so glad I did. It has lived up to and surpassed all my expectations. The lens is super sharp of course, but it’s the image stabilisation and focus speed that make it a joy to use. If you decide to buy one, you will not be disappointed.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. sparx51

    Clean sharp images even when enlarging frames from my Canon 60D. It takes a bit of getting used to as its quite heavy but well worth persevering with. The auto focus is quick to react and with practise images are easy enough to capture. I am well pleased with this lens bought specifically for a trip to Reno this September after a disappointing trip 2 years ago using a 500mm mirror purchased as its size and weight were I thought ideal. At slightly less at 400mm I still expect the results will be far superior but the critical difference is the auto focus. All in all a good lens for the money.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. philg0_3

    I wanted a longer telephoto than my 70-300 and I wanted good quality. I have had an 80-400 before but it was an older model, not Canon, and had sluggish autofocus plus not quite good quality. This lens has image stabilisation, which effectively adds two stops to it making it perform like a f2.8 lens instead of f5.6, (as long as there is no action, because at 1/60 you will get blurry pictures of moving targets unless you pan). However, modern digital SLR’s now perform well at high ISO. I have had good results at ISO 2000. This means that the f5.6 maximum apeture is less of a problem. Poor light conditions? Just increase the sensor sensitivity. Unless you are a professional, where the massive expense for a f2.8 400mm telephoto can be justified, you can now get excellent shots from this lens when combined with a high iso setting on your modern camera. In use, I like the ability to “fix” the focal length and concentrate on the subject. The “push pull” zoom action does not suit everyone but I am happy. The action is super smooth with no “play” in the lens barrel. Autofocus is fast and accurate. You can limit the range for even faster responses. The image stabilsation is good and you can get away with hand held at 1/60 at 400mm but higher shutter speeds are suggested. The optical results are superb, depicting detail on bird feathers when taken from 20-30 teet away, and able to resolve details of leaves and flowers at similar distances. All in all, a top quality optic.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo