Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN Review: 49″ Curved LED Monitor

9.5/10 (Expert Score)
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Set Lowest Price Alert
ร—
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN 49" Curved Ultra Wide LED Monitor - 3840 x 1080, 144Hz, 1ms, Quantum Dot, Freesync, 2 x HDMI, Displayport, USB - £829.97
Check all prices
  • Discover the groundbreaking 49-inch super ultra-wide 32:9 monitor with new metal Quantum dot technology and VA panel with 1ms response time
  • The fast 144Hz screen refresh rate ensures you flawlessly smooth action scenes even in games with high frame rates. And you can adjust the…
Last updated on 29th November 2020 6:05 am
Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN Review: 49″ Curved LED Monitor
Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN Review: 49″ Curved LED Monitor

Description

Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN Review: 49″ Curved LED Monitor Prices

Price History

Price history for Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN 49" Curved Ultra Wide LED Monitor - 3840 x 1080, 144Hz, 1ms, Quantum Dot, Freesync, 2 x HDMI, Displayport, USB
Latest updates:
  • £829.97 - 22nd November 2020
  • £834.18 - 14th November 2020
  • £833.97 - 8th November 2020
  • £834.18 - 24th October 2020
Since: 24th October 2020
  • Highest Price: £834.18 - 24th October 2020
  • Lowest Price: £829.97 - 22nd November 2020

Additional information

Specification: Samsung LC49HG90DMUXEN Review: 49″ Curved LED Monitor

Discover the groundbreaking 49-inch super ultra-wide 32 9 monitor with new metal Quantum dot technology and VA panel with 1ms response time
Set Dimension without Stand (WxHxD) 1,203.0 x 369.4 x 194.4 mm
Set Weight with Stand (kg) 15

Reviews (0)

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5
0
2
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Tink-GB

    28inch curved screen Samsung monitor…Things to know before you buy…1…Has volume control but no internal speakers. Volume control is for the headphone socket on rear. Pointless.2….Switching it off is needlessly silly in that by default the led flashes blue when it’s in standby and off when on… And it’s difficult. to switch it off…. so backwards Sammy boys….3…The joystick control for the internal osd and settings is v. effective.4…You get a full144hz from the supplied Display Port lead or from HDMI 2…not HDMI 1 which is capped to 60hz. but no. Hdmi lead is. supplied)… once you go 144hz you will never go back to 50/60hz.5…There is also no horizontal height or tilt adjustment.6…No AMD or NVIDIA high frame rate or HDR support but I see no tearing on games either.7… As this is a native 2560x 1440 pixel panel (not UHD OR 4K)…you games will. look fuzzy in 1080i/p…so to render properly you will need a beefy graphics card… ie. a gtx1060 or better in reality…

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Euphoria

    โ–บReview of: Samsung LC32JG52QQUXEN 32-Inch Curved WQHD 144 Hz LED Gaming Monitor – Dark Silverโ—„Where to start, well I guess the quick and easy one is – do I like it? The answer is, yes. Great review, thanks for reading.A more in-depth answer would be, yes I do like it but there are also many things I don’t like.———————–๐—ช๐—ต๐—ฎ๐˜’๐˜€ ๐—ด๐—ผ๐—ผ๐—ฑ:———————–โ€ข ๐—ง๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐˜€๐—ถ๐˜‡๐—ฒ – Oh man, at first it’s gigantic and it’s glorious! Sadly, you quickly get used to it though, until you have to use a 23-27″ display again and you suddenly think, how did I ever use such a small display! I was choosing between a 27″ and this a 32″, the 27″ appealed to me for the increased PPI (pixel density) but size won out in the end and I do not regret it. For all games, especially for open-world RPGs, it’s frickin’ amazing. And movies, web browsing, or productivity too, you can’t beat a big display it’s just a great experience.โ€ข ๐—›๐—ถ๐—ด๐—ต ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐—ณ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐˜€๐—ต (๐Ÿญ๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿฐ๐—›๐˜‡) – I can’t say too much as I’ve been using 120-144Hz displays for nearly 10 years now so I’m very much used to it, but if you’ve never experienced it and you want this display for gaming… put it this way, a game running smoothly at 144fps is better than chocolate or pizza, or pizza with chocolate topping.โ€ข ๐—ง๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—ฐ๐˜‚๐—ฟ๐˜ƒ๐—ฒ – This is something I thought I didn’t care too much about but once you scale to 32″ of larger on PC where you sit quite close to the display, wow it makes a big difference. Again, it’s something you get used to and just accept after a few days until you sit in front of a large display that isn’t curved and you hate it because the edges look terrible. A curve is totally unnecessary for under 30″ though even if it’s an ultrawide. I saw a curved 24″ 16:9 display a few weeks ago and it just looked ridiculous.โ€ข *๐—–๐—ผ๐—น๐—ผ๐—ฟ ๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐—ฐ๐˜‚๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐˜† – *๐˜๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ ๐˜จ๐˜ข๐˜ฎ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ, ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฐ๐˜ท๐˜ช๐˜ฆ๐˜ด, ๐˜ธ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฃ ๐˜ฃ๐˜ณ๐˜ฐ๐˜ธ๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ, ๐˜ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ถ๐˜›๐˜ถ๐˜ฃ๐˜ฆ…๐˜ฆ๐˜ต๐˜ค, the colors are good, not great but not terrible like a TN panel. That said this is definitely not a professional panel with high gamut accuracy, it’s just good for the average user and/or gamer.โ€ข ๐—–๐—ผ๐—ป๐˜๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐˜€๐˜ & ๐—ฏ๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐—ด๐—ต๐˜๐—ป๐—ฒ๐˜€๐˜€ – As a high refresh gamer I came from TN panels so for me this is flippin’ fantastic, it’s no OLED, but it’s amazing compared to TN panels. The blacks are… well black not light gray, and the whites are bright white, I mean it’s not HDR but it’s still bright and contrasty especially in a dark room playing a stealth game.โ€ข ๐—›๐—ฎ๐—น๐—ผ ๐—ฒ๐—ณ๐—ณ๐—ฒ๐—ฐ๐˜ (๐—ด๐—น๐—ผ๐˜„ ๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ป๐—ฑ ๐—ฏ๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐—ด๐—ต๐˜ ๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐˜€) – It definitely has a slight halo effect but it’s very slight, no worse than TN panels I own. Better than I expected from a VA panel.โ€ข ๐—ฅ๐—ฒ๐˜€๐—ผ๐—น๐˜‚๐˜๐—ถ๐—ผ๐—ป – You just can’t beat 1440p for gaming right now. So much easier to run than 4k, so much better to look at than 1080p, and you don’t need a $10k monster rig to push 100+fps. This is the sweet spot.โ€ข ๐—ง๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—ผ๐˜ƒ๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—น๐—น ๐—น๐—ผ๐—ผ๐—ธ๐˜€ – I think it looks pretty nice, it’s not the thinnest or most premium looking but the color and thin bezels make it look nice, classy even, it’s not garish and dripping in RGB bling shouting “gAMerRr!!1!” The stand, however, more details about the stand can be found in the ๐˜ž๐˜ฉ๐˜ข๐˜ต’๐˜ด ๐˜‰๐˜ข๐˜ฅ section of this review.———————–๐—ช๐—ต๐—ฎ๐˜’๐˜€ ๐—ข๐—ž:———————–โ€ข ๐—š๐—ต๐—ผ๐˜€๐˜๐—ถ๐—ป๐—ด/๐—บ๐—ผ๐˜๐—ถ๐—ผ๐—ป ๐—ฏ๐—น๐˜‚๐—ฟ (๐—ฝ๐—ถ๐˜…๐—ฒ๐—น ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐˜€๐—ฝ๐—ผ๐—ป๐˜€๐—ฒ) – I was expecting and prepared for some pretty obvious ghosting and blurring because it’s a VA panel, it’s just something you have to put up with. On this display it’s actually not too bad, I mean there’s a noticeable increase compared to TN and at first, it was very noticeable but that’s because I was looking for it, after a few hours you just don’t see it any more unless you’re whizzing the cursor around on a blank dark screen.โ€ข ๐—ฉ๐—ถ๐—ฒ๐˜„๐—ถ๐—ป๐—ด ๐—ฎ๐—ป๐—ด๐—น๐—ฒ๐˜€ – Much, much better than TN but still pretty… meh. From a 40 degree angle, the color shifts quite a lot, again not terrible like TN but I was expecting better.โ€ข ๐—•๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐—ธ๐—น๐—ถ๐—ด๐—ต๐˜ ๐—ฏ๐—น๐—ฒ๐—ฒ๐—ฑ (๐—ฒ๐—ฑ๐—ด๐—ฒ ๐—ต๐—ผ๐˜ ๐˜€๐—ฝ๐—ผ๐˜๐˜€) – Mine has some backlight bleed in the corners, it’s not bad but it’s not great. Again it’s one of those things that you really don’t notice unless it’s really bad which thankfully mine isn’t.———————–๐—ช๐—ต๐—ฎ๐˜’๐˜€ ๐—ป๐—ผ๐˜ ๐—ด๐—ผ๐—ผ๐—ฑ:———————–โ€ข ๐—ค๐˜‚๐—ฎ๐—น๐—ถ๐˜๐˜† ๐—ฐ๐—ผ๐—ป๐˜๐—ฟ๐—ผ๐—น – I know this display is on the low-side of mid-range, it’s under ยฃ300 so it’s an inexpensive display but com’on, Samsung! Some silver tape inside the bezels on mine is sticking out the bottom and fully visible (see the attached pictures)โ€ข ๐—ฆ๐˜๐˜‚๐—ฐ๐—ธ ๐—ฝ๐—ถ๐˜…๐—ฒ๐—น๐˜€ (๐—ป๐—ผ๐˜ ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ) – My one shipping with no less than 6 stuck pixels, not dead just stuck. This is the first TV, monitor, phone, tablet… etc, I’ve ever bought that came with stuck pixels out the box. Less than 10 defective (not dead) pixels is declared acceptable by, Samsung, so if you were to return yours you would need to give a different reason for returning it. I was seriously annoyed when I found this out, I mean I could have easily sent it back to Amazon and maybe received a better one, but the replacement also may have been worse. So, I used it for 3 weeks to see if they got better, plus I used the ๐˜ด๐˜ต๐˜ถ๐˜ค๐˜ฌ ๐˜ฑ๐˜ช๐˜น๐˜ฆ๐˜ญ ๐˜ฃ๐˜ถ๐˜ฅ๐˜ฅ๐˜บ ๐˜ข๐˜ฑ๐˜ฑ multiple times to hopefully kick the pixels back into gear and I have to admit after 4-5 days I stopped noticing them because I stopped looking for them. Over the 14 months I’ve used it every day I haven’t noticed them more than 3 or 4 times as they’re only visible on plain static color backgrounds plus even on a large display like this, the pixels are still tiny. So, even though I know where they are I still have trouble finding them as they’re so tiny. Nonetheless, it still sucks but you really don’t notice them, unless they’re dead pixels.โ€ข ๐—•๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐—ธ๐—น๐—ถ๐—ด๐—ต๐˜ ๐—ด๐—น๐—ผ๐˜„ – Not to be confused with backlight bleed, this is the overall glow from the backlight when the screen is showing a dark or completely black image. It’s worse than TN which I wasn’t expecting, in fact, it really bugs me when playing a stealthy type game or watching a dark horror type movie at night, when there’s a dark image the black areas glow too much for my likely. It definitely helps to sit a little further away and/or have a small light source in the same room. But it could be worse, it’s not as bad as IPS glow, IPS is a whole different ball game for backlight glow.โ€ข ๐—ง๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐˜€๐˜๐—ฎ๐—ป๐—ฑ – I can sum up the stand in one simple sentence – I ordered a VESA (75×75) wall mount the same day I received my monitor. Need I say more? It’s that’s bad – no adjustment or movement in any way, piano gloss finish plastic, flimsy; the display wobbles even just from typing, and it’s not even the same color as the panel it’s a dark navy blue! It’s terrible, please just buy a desk or wall mount if you buy this display, they only cost ยฃ10.๐—ง๐—Ÿ;๐——๐—ฅ/๐—ค๐˜‚๐—ถ๐—ฐ๐—ธ ๐˜€๐˜†๐—ป๐—ผ๐—ฝ๐˜€๐—ถ๐˜€:⭐⭐⭐⭐ – I was going to give it 3 out of 5 stars because the stuck pixels really annoyed the hell out of me, but I have to admit after the first few days I really haven’t noticed them.Overall, am I happy? Yes. Could it be better? Yes. Is it good for the price (ยฃ279.99? Yes, it’s pretty much unbeatable.If you’re a gamer, you want a large display, and you have around ยฃ300 to spend then you can do much worse than this display, but having 32″, 1440p, 144Hz, and curved for under ยฃ300 comes at the cost of quality control and a few annoyances.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Toms Trusted Reviews
    Logo